Coming Soon

Mad Max Movie Datasheet

Plot Summary

Mad Max is set in a dystopian near-future society suffering from a prolonged fuel shortage. Civil order is rapidly deteriorating and lawless gangs rampage across the desolate landscape, in defiance of the crumbling police force, the Main Force Patrol (MFP).

An escaped cop killer, the Nightrider, is killed during a high-speed pursuit by a young MFP patrolman, Max Rockatansky. The Nightrider's comrades, a motorcycle gang led by the Toecutter, hold Max responsible and kill his partner, Jim Goose, when he attempts to bring them to justice for a violent spree in a small country town.

Distraught at Goose's horrific death, Max walks away from the violence of the MFP and attempts to build a peaceful life with his wife Jessie and their infant son, Sprog.

Meanwhile, the Toecutter is still hungry for revenge for the Nightrider's death.

Max, now resigned from the MFP, is spending time with his family in a secluded beachfront area when the Toecutter Gang stumble across their hideaway. Jessie and Sprog are brutally murdered.

Deranged with grief, Max equips himself with a black supercharged "Pursuit Special" Interceptor and sets out to track down the gang and avenge the deaths of his family.

Home|Back to top

Full Credit Listing


George Miller


Byron Kennedy
Bill Miller – associate producer

Writing credits

George Miller – story
Byron Kennedy – story
James McCausland – screenplay
George Miller – screenplay


Mel Gibson – Max Rockatansky
Joanne Samuel – Jessie Rockatansky
Hugh Keays-Byrne – Toecutter
Steve Bisley – Jim Goose, MFP Officer
Tim Burns – Johnny the Boy
Roger Ward – Fifi MacAfee

Lisa Aldenhoven – Nurse
David Bracks – Mudguts
Bertrand Cadart – Clunk
David Cameron – Barry, MFP Mechanic
Robina Chaffey – Cabaret Singer
Stephen Clark – Sarse
Mathew Constantine – Toddler
Jerry Day – Ziggy
Reg Evans – Station Master
Howard Eynon – Diabando
Max Fairchild – Benno Swaisey
John Farndale – Grinner
Peter Felmingham – Senior Doctor
Sheila Florance – May Swaisey
Nic Gazzana – Starbuck
Hunter Gibb – Lair
Vince Gil – Crawford 'Nightrider' Montizano
Andrew Gilmore – Silvertongue
Jonathan Hardy – Police Commissioner Labatouche
Brendan Heath – Sprog Rockatansky
Paul Johnstone – Cundalini
Nick Lathouris – Grease Rat
John Ley – MFP Officer Charlie
Steve Millichamp – MFP Officer Roop
Phil Motherwell – Junior Doctor
George Novak – Scuttle
Geoff Parry – Bubba Zanetti
Lulu Pinkus – Nightrider's Girl
Kim Sullivan – Girl in Chevy
Neil Thompson – TV Newsreader
Billy Tisdall – Midge
Gil Tucker – People's Observer
John Arnold
Tom Broadbridge
Peter Culpan
Peter Ford
Clive Hearne
Telford Jackson
Kristine Kamen
Joan Letch
Sally Mackenzie
James McCausland
Kerry Miller
Amanda Muggleton – Biker's Moll (uncredited)
Janine Ogden
Di Trelour
Vernon Weaver
Paul Young
Brendan Young

Original Score

Brian May


David Eggby

Camera Department

Harry Glynatsis – assistant camera
Tim Smart – clapper loader, photographer (second unit)
Lindsay Foote – gaffer
David Cassar – grip
Noel McDonald – grip
Garry Plunkett – best boy

Film Editing

Cliff Hayes
Tony Paterson
Byron Kennedy
George Miller


Mitch Consultancy
Mitch Matthews (uncredited)

Art Direction

Jon Dowding

Costume Design

Clare Griffin

Makeup and Wardrobe Department

Viv Mepham – makeup artist
Merren Kingsford-Smith – wardrobe
Ben Taylor – hair stylist

Production Management

Jenny Day – production co-ordinator
John Hipwell – unit manager
Tom Broadbridge – production assistant

Assistant Directors

Ian Goddard – first assistant director
Steve Connard – second assistant director
Des Sheridan – third assistant director

Art Department

Steve Amezdroz – assistant art director
Richard Francis – props
Frank Matich – helmets

Sound Department

Ned Dawson – sound effects recordist
Roger Savage – post production sound
Mark Wasiutak – boom operator
Gary Wilkins – sound recordist
Byron Kennedy – sound effects editor

Special Effects

Chris Murray

Visual Effects

Richard Wilmot – optical effects operator (uncredited)


Grant Page – stunt co-ordinator/stunts
Chris Anderson – stunts
Dale Bensch – stunts
David Bracks – stunts
Michael Daniels – stunts
Gerry Gauslaa – stunts
Terry Gibson – stunts
George Novak – stunts

Vehicle Department

Ray Beckerley – vehicle designer
Bertrand Cadart – motorcycle designer
Jack Burger – motorcycle designer
Stephen O'Hare – truck co-ordinator
Robert Orchard – mechanic
Clive Rowell – mechanic
Murray Smith – mechanic
Phil Brock – black-on-black driver
Lex Glouchewera – electronics

Other Crew

Shirley Ballard – continuity (2nd unit)
Stuart Beatty – traffic supervisor
Arthur Cambridge – colour grader (uncredited)
Margaret Cardin – negative cutter
Nic Gazzana – cabaret music
Bill Gooley – laboratory consultant
Noel L. Harman – financial consultant
Andrew Jones – traffic supervisor
Brian May – composer
Rudy Mineur – additional props (uncredited)
Bill Owen – titler
Chic Stringer – still photography
Margaret-Rose Stringer – continuity (uncredited)

Home|Back to top